Book Recommendations

With hours ahead in the chemo chair, I’d love to get some book recommendations.  Books that are available as audiobooks are particularly good.  The benadryl that I receive with my rituxan treatments makes me drowsy and it can be difficult to focus on reading.

My favorite book is Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.  Amanda and I own three copies and we both have the audio version on our iPods.  It combines humor, travel, food, and spirituality and each time that I pick it up (or listen to it) it speaks to me in some way.  I also love travel memoirs such as A Year in Provence  (Peter Mayle), A Thousand Days in Tuscany (Marlena De Blasi) and Bacchus & Me (Jay McInerney).  Favorite novels include Memoirs of a Geisha, The Thorn Birds and classics by Jane Austen and Charles Dickens…..and I loved the biography of John Adams by David Mccullough.  I used to read alot of James Michener, too……perhaps I should revisit some favorites.

Has anyone read any of Ellen Degeneres’ books?  I saw one in audio format recently and thought it might be fun.  I love Ellen.  I confess, when no one is home, I dance with her at the beginning of her show…….but that’s between you and me.  Wink

One thought on “Book Recommendations

Leave a Reply

