Chemotherapy, Day 8

I’m feeling much better today.  At noon yesterday, I hit a point at which I had to make myself go to bed and get some rest.  I wasn’t miserable, just “yucky” enough that I didn’t want to get any “yuckier”.   “Yucky” in this context is defined as:  lightheadedness, mild nausea, and a metallic taste in the mouth which I described to friends yesterday as follows:

“Put a cheap metal spoon in your mouth and suck on it.  Then, have someone tempt you with one of your favorite foods”.

My salivary glands were stimulated and tingly….around the edge of my tongue and on the inside of my cheek, opposite my tongue.  This, accompanied by a metallic taste was really just weird…..not unpleasant.

So, at noon yesterday, I cancelled the rest of the day and went to bed.  I had been told that nausea usually happens in the first two or three days after a chemo treatment so I had been very good about taking my anti-nausea meds first thing in the morning for the first few days.  I had been feeling great so I decided to try to go without……but that caught up with me yesterday and I’m back on the meds (Zofran and compazine) for now.

The other weird thing that I’m experiencing is a low temperature.  For the last two days, my temperature has been 95-point-something.  I’m now at the onset of nadir, the point at which my blood counts will drop, and I’m susceptible to infection so I need to be aware if I develop even a low-grade fever.  So far, I guess, that’s not a problem…….

3 thoughts on “Chemotherapy, Day 8

  1. Hi Carrie,

    Larry sent the link last night and I received it during intermission at Mamma Mia. I have a new BlackBerry Pearl that I really love! It lets me do thinks like read your blog and find my way to the Paramount from Bepo’s! I recommend it as a play thing!

    Anyway – I enjoyed reading youir entries I especially liked your green cocktail! I could even see the pictures on my little machine!

    Back to class!

    Barb

  2. I’ll immediately clutch your rss feed as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please permit me understand so
    that I could subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

