Meet Luigi

While I’m better known for my beagles, Luigi (a standard Wire-Haired Dachshund) has become a very important part of our family.  When I got my diagnosis last November, I had sixteen dogs (most of them puppies) and, having been told at that time that surgery and chemotherapy would be imminent, we quickly needed to find homes for most of the dogs.  Luigi was the first dog voted to stay.  You are looking at perhaps the happiest dog on earth and we can’t look at him without smiling….or laughing! 

One of the things that I love about living in the Puget Sound area is the abundance of hiking trails.  Today Luigi and I went for a walk on the Soos Creek Trail, a couple of miles from home.  The skunk cabbage that you see in the background is a familiar Northwest sign of spring…..and it comes by its name honestly!  With rain forecast for the rest of the week, it felt good to get out and go for a walk……Luigi thought it was a brilliant idea, too.

Happy Luigi

Long Road Ahead

Luigi is a pretty good little show dog, too!  We’re grateful to Luigi’s breeders, Kathy and Tom Lockyer, for allowing Luigi to become a part of our family and for their support and mentoring.  Luigi’s first outing in the show ring resulted in a BOV win over a special from the 6-9 month puppy class (for a major) and, later that day, he made the cut in the Hound Group.  Not a bad start!  🙂  Learn more about Luigi on his web page.

Luigi BOV Albany

2 thoughts on “Meet Luigi

  1. Luigi is very cute! My dogs keep me smiling too. We show horses here on Spruce Hill. Our first is this weekend. Can’t wait to see how my daughter does.

  2. hello,
    i just randomy searched Luigi, which happens to be my dogs name, on google images, and i was very surprised to see a picture of a dashchund.

    you see My dog too, is a Dashchund. although he is a miniature smoothhaired and is not a showdog, he is still a puppy and isn’t very well trained yet.

    while i was looking through the many images of “luigi” a video game character with green overals and hat, i am delighted you chose Luigi as a name. i didn’t think any other dog owners would name their dog that. I chose his name coz my brother likes the video game, and i like the unusual name, i think we have too many “buddy’s”

    i think Luigi is very cute!! good job!!

Leave a Reply

