Juicing


Several people have asked me recently about my new juicer. It’s a Breville Juice Fountain Plus and I got it at Bed, Bath and Beyond for $150. I did my homework online, reading a number of reviews of different brands and this seemed to be the best value. It’s fairly easy to clean and the opening is large so fruits and veggies can be juiced in large pieces. I use mine two or three times a week….usually making green lemonade (1 head of romaine, 6 stalks of kale, 2 apples, 1 or 2 lemons and an inch or two of ginger)….pineapple juice blends are good, too. Today I made a beet juice and I’m afraid that beet juice is an acquired taste. I saw mom and dad last weekend and dad gave me two grocery sacks full of beets from their garden! YIKES! That’s alot of beet juice! The recipe called for: 1 beet, 2 celery stalks, 1 cucumber, 5 carrots, a handful of parsley and 2 inches of ginger. Hmmmm…..like I said….an acquired taste.

2 thoughts on “Juicing

  1. Beet juice does not sound too good. Maybe you should sweeten up the recipe and put some fruits in it. It might taste better. I grew up eating beets and have never aquired a taste for them 🙂

  2. I remember a recipe for beet jelly, think it was flavored with kool-aid for fruit taste. Another little adventure in cooking that did not warrant making a second time!

Leave a Reply

