In The Woods….

…..here I am, still making my way through the woods, although the path isn’t really this straight. I’m still down today…..physically fine but emotionally fragile. I want to put on a t-shirt that says “Does Not Want To Participate”, go in my room and shut the door. I called my oncologist and shared how I’d felt the last couple of days……”I don’t think it’s the prednisone”, she said, “I think that it’s just the news that you got last Friday”. It’s not. I got the news that I expected last Friday and was prepared for it. I got through the weekend fine and it was only when I went back on prednisone that I started feeling down. I’ve been expecting surgery to remove the tumor since last November and, frankly, I’d like to just go in and get it done.

Thank you to all who have written….I’ll write soon….

3 thoughts on “In The Woods….

  1. Hey Carrie,

    I think your doc is wrong. The prednisone alters my moods too. I’m not normally angry or depressed, but I find myself short tempered on the prednisone, to the point where I just find myself ridiculous. I don’t get a lot of contact with the outside world right now; so it’s just me & my hubby, & he works nights. I’ll be watching a television program all by myself and sniping at the people in commercials, or I’ll yell at my neuropathic fingers for dropping things. Looney! 🙂 I also find myself more likely to cry over silly stuff on the prednisone & for a little while after, like songs and even some commercials on the radio. It’s an emotional roller coaster for me. Plus it makes me weirdly hungry, like I know I’m not hungry, but I want to eat something anyway.

Leave a Reply

