Detox

I’m back home again after a very restful week, house-sitting for friends. Last week was “week 2” following my sixth and final round of R-CVP, typically the week when I felt the worst. Fatigue has been my biggest challenge, often needing to lie down several times a day….and get up several times during the night. The other challenge has been my hair. I still have hair and I’m grateful that I haven’t had to wear that sequined scarf, but my hair has gotten quite thin and difficult to manage. I’ll be glad when it begins to grow back again.

I’m detoxing. I’ve reduced caffeine, eliminated alcohol, I dry brush daily, exercise and meditate, and I’m eating a nearly vegetarian diet. I take supplements including fish oil, milk thistle, gingko, quercetin, green tea extract and vitamin C, along with my multi-vitamin and mega-iron supplement.  I also focus on probiotics and enzymes with juicing, Kombucha, Kefir, and miso.

I’ve finally finished The Pillars of the Earth and really enjoyed it. I’m now reading Lance Armstrong’s memoir, It’s Not About the Bike. It’s a very interesting look at his life and his battle with metastatic testicular cancer. I’ve read several cancer memoirs now and it’s been fascinating to hear how others have faced their diagnosis, their treatment and their life with cancer. An article in the current issue of Cure magazine talks about why some patients choose to talk about their diagnosis and others choose to keep their diagnosis private. We all need to do what is best for us and there is no single right answer. I’m grateful to everyone who has shared the story of their own cancer journey with me.

Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today
~James Dean

4 thoughts on “Detox

  1. Hey Carrie,

    I know you’re probably pretty busy, but My Crazy Sexy Life has a sister site called Cancer Planet, and one of the ladies there has just been diagnosed with stage IV MALT. She’s just about to start treatment with Rituxan and has some questions; I thought if you had a chance you might be able to share some first hand experience.

    http://myplanet.planetcancer.org/profiles/blog/show?id=1818698%3ABlogPost%3A61967

    Thanks in advance if you can… good luck with your hair 🙂 Mine is just starting to grow back, it’s like a half an inch long, but I still can’t figure out what color it is.

  2. Carrie,

    Read Lance’s book as well and really enjoyed it. It’s amazing to see how he has built his life around his ability to beat cancer. I love what he says about his 7 Tour winnings – “I beat cancer, what can’t I do?”.
    M

  3. Carrie,

    Glad you enjoyed the Diagnosis Dilemma article in CURE and thanks for sharing your own cancer story with all of us. If you haven’t already, you should take a look at our articles on fatigue, they may help:

    http://www.curetoday.com/backissues/v1n1/departments/movingon/index.html

    http://www.curetoday.com/backissues/v3n1/features/Fatigue/index.html

    http://www.curetoday.com/backissues/v5n3/profiles/chronicles/popup_invisible.html

    Good luck with your treatment and I have to second, Planet Cancer is a great site for young adult survivors. 🙂

    Lacey, with CURE

  4. Carrie,

    Thank you for your blog. I was diagnosed 14 months ago and am still in the watch and wait mode as my NHL (also B cell, indolent) is reasonably stable so far in two nodes (chest and near the pelvic bone).

    Each quarterly visit with my oncologist at Mass General in Boston has been a positive experience. I am sorry to hear about the difficulty that you are having scheduling a PET scan. My appointment for the next scan right is made after I see my oncologist before I go home.

    I just found this press coverage about a new combo treatment, which is the real point of my posting. I am only trying to pass along information – not prescribe anything. I plan to ask my oncologist about this as an alternative to R-CVP if I get to the point where I need active treatment.

    http://biz.yahoo.com/prnews/080627/clf051.html?.v=101&printer=1

    The PDF of the primary study by an oncologist from the Hutchison Cancer Center in Seattle and one in CH is:

    http://theoncologist.alphamedpress.org/cgi/reprint/13/6/657

    The PDF of the commentary on the study by some UPenn radiology oncologists:

    http://theoncologist.alphamedpress.org/cgi/reprint/13/6/655

    Good luck at your next PET scan!!

    Bill

Leave a Reply

