I Feel Human Again!

Today has been a long day.  At 3 am, the nurse came in to take my vitals….and then again at 5 am.  At 5, though, she also wanted to get my weight which involves rolling my legs over the side of the bed and standing on a scale.  It was at this point that I discovered that I had no support in my right leg.  Over the next two hours, my legs progressed to a point where I couldn’t move them, couldn’t even wiggle my toes.  I pushed the nurse button on my bed 3 times over the next 45 minutes before someone came to see what was wrong.  Then…..I had a whole lot of people in my room.  The anesthesiologist came in and turned off my epidural…to get it out of my system.  Just about the time when David & Lesley came for a visit, I was at my worst, no longer benefiting from the epidural and feeling like I was on fire, even though my temperature was only 99.6.  It wasn’t a hot flash either, those come and go, this lasted for more than an hour.  Eventually I got a half dose of the epidural, the anesthesiologist declaring that I was a “cheap date”, AND…I got the tube taken out of my nose!!!!  Hooray!!!  I feel human again.  My sore throat is going away and it’s easier to talk and to swallow.  In half an hour, I’ll try to walk again….moving about helps to get the plumbing working again and, once it’s working, I can go home!!

4 thoughts on “I Feel Human Again!

  1. Sounds like you are making progress. Insist that they keep your pain under control. This helps you keep moving and gets you home sooner.

    Looking at beagle puppies or beautiful dogs is far more healing than a hospital bed. Get home as soon as you are able.

    Take care of yourself.

    Nancy B

  2. Sounds like you are a fun patient to have, Carrie! Never a dull moment – keep them on their toes!

    Well, as Nancy says – get yourself home as soon as you can. You need a beagle on your bed!
    And beagles outside the door to get you up and about, too!

    Keep up the good work,

    Jan and Uli

  3. Hi,

    I hope best for you, get well and be able to go home soon.
    I know how it feels like to “learn” walk again. But you will progress on your own time, don’t hurry too much.

    “Angels to your side”

    Anne

  4. So happy to hear that you are doing fine! Hope you will be home soon! Thinking of you a lot and keeping you in my prayers!

    Take good care of yourself……………

    God Bless

    Cheryl (Oman)

Leave a Reply

