Saturday

I love to tell stories and I tend to get fairly expressive when I have a story to share. David & Lesley like to make me sit on my hands and try to tell a story without using them….that doesn’t last for long. This afternoon, my family came to visit me and I filled them in on the events of the last 36 hours. Tears were shed, they were laughing so hard and, of course, an audience like that just keeps me going. I need to be discreet in my comments on my blog, however. I will, after all, remain in the care of Valley Medical Center for the next few days.

The anesthesiologists have been great. The doctor that I worked with yesterday got me through a long, difficult day and then stopped by that evening to give me a lesson about epidurals, how they work, what he thought had gone wrong and what the course of treatment would be going forward. I learned a lot and enjoyed our talk but I wish that he had taught me how to operate my epidural pump. When I got up this morning, I was in pain and my nurse didn’t know how to operate my pump. It was three hours before I had relief.

I have a nice corner room to myself with windows on two walls to let in lots of light. I have a TV that also provides me with e-mail and internet access, games and free movies. I’ve been happily able to entertain myself….four days in a hospital would otherwise be fairly tedious. To quote the nurses who visit my room, I have “more flowers than anyone they’ve ever cared for” and everyone who comes into my room comments on how good it smells in here. Not something you hear too often about a hospital room!!! Thank you everyone for the flowers, cards, e-mails and comments on my blog!!! I am so grateful for all of the support that I’ve received!

I haven’t eaten for four days and those of you who know me well will not be surprised when I say that I haven’t slept for four days either. I am allowed ice chips, one every 1o minutes, 30 ml of Maalox every six hours with a sip of water chaser, and I can suck on a “wet sponge on a stick”….something that I’ve become amazingly fond of. I will be allowed to go home when I produce something that proves that my digestive system is functioning. LOL! I’m not gonna produce much on ice chips!!! There has been no mention of food yet. The closest that I’ve been to food since Wednesday is the junk food festival that Larry and our friend, Barb, enjoyed in my room last night while they watched free movies on my TV. That’s just not right! 😦

I sat in the chair in my room 3 different times today but aside from that, my progress is fairly slow. I’m relatively pain free, though, and able to maintain a sense of humor about my experience.

More later…..my ice is melting….

6 thoughts on “Saturday

  1. Glad to hear you are feeling better. Hope some food comes your way very soon.
    Prayers and thoughts are with you. I have told my 92 year old aunt about you and she always asks how you are doing, so you have some additional prayers coming your way.

  2. What Carrie does not say, is the “sponge on a stick” (at least the one I saw) is green and sort of toothbrush head shaped and sized – now if they gave her different colored ones, that would be a real treat!

  3. I’m glad you are doing so well. I read your blog all the time and enjoy hearing about your dogs and the amazing outlook you have toward fighting cancer. I live in Arlington, WA so I feel a little bit like we are neighbors. I hope and pray for your continued recovery and I hope you graduate to popsicles soon.
    Cindy

  4. Hi Carrie!
    I am glad to hear you are feeling better. I did not get to read your last post until today and had to go back and read it. I think it is so cool that you can blog in your room. I am sure you have had a bit of entertainment other than stinky TV!
    Hang in there! I am sending you all my prayers and positive thoughts. Have you decided what your first meal will be?

    I will check in everyday to cheer you on! Try and get some reast 😉

  5. I have been following your journey through this experience since Amanda first told me about it a year ago. I have not written before and I don’t know why but I do have to tell you how beautiful it is to see your amazing spirit shine through this experience.
    I am so glad to see you are doing better and I do hope that God continues to keep you in the palm of His hand.
    Keep on trucking as we say out here at KW. My prayers and the prayers of our entire family are with you!!!

    Gob bless
    Mike A.

  6. So very glad to hear that you’re recuperating in a sunshiny room full of fragrant flowers, with those you love at your side; even if they are doing all the eating for you! (just don’t share your ‘sponge on a stick’ with them, that’ll show ’em!) My mom keeps asking about you, and we are all very glad to hear you’re doing well. Big hugs from your extended family in Michigan! ~Margaret

Leave a Reply

