An Exciting Day!!!

I pee’d like a big girl today!!! πŸ˜›

Now, if that’s too much information, you may want to just skip today’s post and tune in again tomorrow. My blog has a diverse audience. Many are family and friends just wanting to see how I’m doing. Many others are “beagle friends”, fellow breeder/exhibitors around the world or pet owners who have given our dogs great homes and become extended family over the years. They’ve been a great support to me and when people ask me how I can bear to give up my puppies, I explain quite often it’s just the beginning of wonderful friendship with some very special people.

Part of my audience, though, are people whom I’ve never met…..and may never meet. It’s the response that I get from them that is my greatest reward. When I started my blog, I decided that it would be an honest and authentic account of my experience. I want to share that experience with those who are on a similar journey and, most importantly, with those who are newly diagnosed. I stay in touch with Jackie in Australia and Sarah on the east coast, both of whom have battled cancer at the same time that I have. Others include a woman in the Middle East who was scared to undergo chemotherapy. After reading “My R-CVP Experience”, she was much more at ease with her treatment and I’ve enjoyed staying in touch with her. Another friend in Europe, who I met through dogs and my website, is now being tested for stomach cancer and my blog has been very helpful to her. So sometimes I share things that aren’t usually shared in polite company but, in those cases, I am writing with a very special audience in mind.

So much has happened since yesterday’s post! Last night I lost my epidural and went to a different pain medication, delivered through my port. The tape that held my epidural tubing in place on my back had started to curl at the edges and had become uncomfortable. Before turning out the lights last night, I asked the nurse to replace the tape. She discovered the part of tape had become entwined with the tubing and an anesthesiologist confirmed that my epidural was no longer in the right place, and since it was a good time for me to transition to different pain meds, that’s what we did…..and I was hooked up to one less tube. The new pain med pump got cranky every time I pushed the button to give myself additional meds, though, so throughout the night I would self-medicate which caused a lot of beeping and required a nurse to fiddle with the machine. By morning, we had the problem solved, but I had spent another sleepless night.

At 9 am I had a visit from my surgeon’s colleague, Dr Unger, and we discussed the events of the previous night and our plan for today. We’ve been waiting for me to pass gas before allowing me to have food but Dr Unger decided that I was doing well enough to progress to a clear liquid diet!!!! WOO HOO!!! This was very exciting news and at 11 am I was able to enjoy a cup of coffee (not very good coffee, but when you’ve been without for 5 days…..well….it made my day!). I also ordered vegetable broth and cranberry juice…..Yummy! LOL! I finished that meal without any tummy upset and I have that same meal now sitting in front of me, waiting for me to finish my post. Later, I’ll order an Italian Ice.

The next big decision that Dr. Unger made was to remove my catheter. I resisted this a little, having enjoyed NOT getting up to pee in the middle of the night for the last few days. But, my catheter is gone, I have one less tube connected to my body and I’m able to pee like a big girl. Oh Boy! πŸ˜›

Finally, having abandoned my catheter, I was able to take a nice hot shower this afternoon! Boy, did that feel good after 5 days in bed!

My bowels are still pretty quiet but my vital signs are perfect, my kidneys are working well, and I’m able to walk around my room and sit in a chair. Tomorrow I’ll see Dr. Burke again and hopefully he’ll have the pathology report back from the tissues that he removed and we’ll discuss our plan to get my digestive system back on track. I’m looking forward to seeing him……lots to learn!

My pain is at a minimum, I’m in my usual cheerful/silly/playful mood…..

……and I’ve got coffee!!! πŸ˜›

6 thoughts on “An Exciting Day!!!

  1. Congratulations, Carrie!! You were deeply in my thoughts today while at church and hearing the word of God. To read this post today confirms that it was truly God speaking to me today, reassuring me that you are doing well. Big hugs to you! Your post completed a good day for me too!

  2. Hi Carrie,
    Good for you!! Glad to hear things are progressing nicely! That’s really nice to hear! You’ll be able to go home before you know it where hopefully you will finally be able to get some needed rest!
    Tracy

  3. I am so glad you are peeing on your own! It is a very good sign. After any surgery I have it is so hard to go so good for you!

    Can’t wait for you to get home…

    love, Jill, Steve, Jenny, Grace, Jesse and Bianca

  4. yaya! You peed! Good for you. I am sure it ifeels good to have the epidural out too. I am glad you are more comfortable and it is godd good good to hear that you have ad some food. Especially the coffee part LOL! I hope you have a good day today and get a slamin nap!

Leave a Reply

