The Next New Thing…

First, I’ll report that there’s no news about my esophagram. Stay tuned for the latest developments.

Second, thank goodness I’m well enough to stay on top of my health care! I called my oncologist’s office this morning….”I haven’t heard from you. Should I be coming in for a post-op and labs?”…..”Why, YES! How about tomorrow”. (My eyes are now rolling in my head….) So….I have a post-op & labs scheduled for tomorrow afternoon. Oh Boy! I’m curious to see where my iron levels are at. I feel like I have them back up near normal range again but it helps to see the lab report.

Finally….my next new thing! Next Tuesday evening I’ll be meeting with a nutritionist at Bastyr Center for Natural Health. I have plenty of doctors who want to fix things…..an oncologist for chemo and cancer treatment, a surgeon to remove tumors….but I’d like to talk to someone who’s interested in making me a well person….not just fixing my problems. At my post-op appointment with my surgeon, he said “Eat what you want, do what you want”…..(my eyes are rolling again)….surely there’s more to know about my reconstructed digestive system than that! Thank goodness for Google! How did people ever get sick before Google!!!??? LOL! 😀

2 thoughts on “The Next New Thing…

  1. So glad to hear you are going to a Nutritionist. I am so surprised that the hospital did not have one speak to you.
    The hospitals in N.J. have such fantastic follow up people, and they do all the arangements for you.

  2. My oncologists (I have 2, my brother is one too, but he lives too far away so I have to get his advice by email) are both of the “eat what you want” school of thought. So frustrating, I agree. Luckily I have a friend who’s a cancer nutritionist, and I think her diet recommendations have really helped me with my chemo treatment. If you want to get a head start on reading before your appointment, you should try this site: http://www.caring4cancer.com/go/cancer/nutrition/eating-well-nutrition. I also like this one: http://www.whfoods.com.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

