Transition

I’m at a period of transition in my life. Most people go through a “mid-life” crisis….mine was just a bit more dramatic than some. In 2008 I battled cancer…..and…..I became an “empty-nester”. For 21 years, my life was devoted to raising two beautiful, intelligent, talented, and independent daughters. I’m very proud of that. But, for the first time in a long time, I’ve been forced to focus on myself….to nurture myself.

In 2009, I’ll be focused on healing my body. Acupuncture is helping to bring my body back into balance. Exercise is helping to restore my strength and stamina and I make sure that I rest when my body tells me to.

There will be other “themes” that I will focus on this year, too. I need to live more simply. Years of clutter have accumulated with the raising of children and moving every three years (prior to our current home where we’ve now lived for 6 years). I’m going to focus on (LOL!) “rehoming” a lot of the stuff that I just don’t need in my life. That includes “mental stuff”. “Chemo Brain” is a very real side effect of chemotherapy. My thought processes are not what they used to be. I’m not as focused or as organized as I once was and getting rid of the clutter will help with this.

I want to live a more “green” life, too. I’ve always been a bit of a “treehugger”…..and I hope to be a bit more environmentally responsible this year.

Faith is a very important part of my life and it’s brought me a great sense of peace….particularly over the past year. I want this year to include daily practice of that faith….and daily expression of the lessons learned from it. At the same time, I’m fascinated by other religions and I’m currently exploring eastern religions and their practices.

Someday I’ll be a vegetarian again….but not until I’ve eaten mussels in Brussels. 🙂 Until then, I’ll try to eat a very healthy, mostly vegetarian diet. I don’t drink coffee – I drink a lot of green tea. I’ve cut back on wine, too…..but won’t be giving that up!

I’ve enjoyed hearing from those who are going through transitions in their lives, too. I’ll share more about my transition in the future but, for now….

…..it’s finally time to take down the Christmas tree…..

2 thoughts on “Transition

  1. Although I have not gone through any illness myself, I too am in transition. For much of the past 18 years, I have been a care giver to relatives. An aunt, who was in a nursing home, my mother, who was home with Parkinsons, and now another Aunt who lives in the same house with me. Also bringing a puppy into our lives almost 5 years ago, brought much unwilling change.
    Over the past 5 years, I have changed greatly. Not for the better. I am not as focused as I had been, thing don’t get done as they once did.
    This past year my Aunt, became very ill, and now better, she still needs me more,and I am responsible for everything involving our house. I often feel very alone, although I have excellent friends, that come at the drop of a hat. I also have a sister, who , well lets say she helps a little. She has her family that need most of her attention.
    I do not mean to sound that I feel sorry for myself. I don’t , I have much to be greatful for. I love my Aunt, who has done so much for me during my life, that I am more than happy to help her. However sometimes it is just overwhelming.
    So that is my story.

Leave a Reply

