A Dramatic Medical Day

My memory is still a bit foggy and there are things that I don’t remember, but I do remember that yesterday was a dramatic medical day…..

I had an appointment with my naturopath at 11 am and, as I recall, that visit went well. Later in the afternoon, I met with my gastroenterologist who advised another stretching of my esophagus. I chose to wait a bit. I have enough medical bills to pay right now and while food continues to get stuck when I swallow, it’s happening less frequently and less dramatically.

From there, I went home….and at around six o’clock I went into the kitchen to fix dinner. That’s the last thing that I remember. I had a seizure last night, the second in my the life (the first occured four years ago in Las Vegas and no cause was ever deternined.). We don’t know how long I laid on the kitchen floor, my face bruised and bleeding. Eventually I managed to get myself up and go out to the home office to find Larry. The first thing that I remember was lying in bed with Larry cleaning up my face. We went to the emergency room last night and the doctor performed an EKG and a CT scan but the tests were inconclusive. It was a couple of hours before I could remember what day it was, names of family, names of dogs. I went home around 2:30 this morning and I’m feeling relatively well this morning. My left eye is bruised, my lower lip is swollen and I’m sore in places on my left side. I have just a very mild headache.

,,,,,I AM well enough to cuddle puppies and take their pictures today! 😀

8 thoughts on “A Dramatic Medical Day

  1. I am so sorry. I hope you are feeling better and taking care of yourself. Do you have a Doctors appointment for this?
    My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  2. Oh Carrie!!! I’m so sorry to hear this! I remember when you had the first seizure.
    Get lots of rest and puppy kisses !! We’ll be thinking about you!

  3. For some reason I thought of you this morning and started to pray … and now I know why. So sorry to read of your dramatic day and I will continue to pray for your recovery and answers to the “why”. Rest with those puppies.

  4. OMG that is crazy. I am glad you did not hurt yourself more when you fell. I hope you feel better. I am sure those adorable puppies can make you feel better very soon.

  5. Wow–that’s scary! I have seizures also. Like you mine happen rarely. After a lot of discussion my doctors determined that it was a result of a sudden drop in blood pressure (I always have low blood pressure) and nothing to be worried about, but just something to be mindful of. I hope yours is similarly non-serious. I have never had one while standing up!!! I’m so sorry to hear this happened to you.

    Pancake, Arian and I all send our warm thoughts to you. Take care.

  6. Oh My Gosh Carrie! I hope you are feeling better! I will keep you in my parayers. I hope everything checks out and you will have no more! 😦

Leave a Reply

