Santorini…Again

If you’re a regular visitor to my blog, you know that Santorini is one of my favorite “mental travel” destinations. Well….I just got off the phone with my mom who happens to be traveling to Santorini in May….without me, of course. 😦 Someday I’ll get to go but, for now, I’ll just imagine myself enjoying a nice glass of wine on this terrace with friends.

I went to see my neurologist today and he must have read my recent post, “The Big Picture“, because I heard things coming out of his mouth that I’ve been wanting to hear from my doctors for a long time! First, my MRI was fine…..no sign of anything wrong. And….rather than push the anti-seizure medication, he wants to run a whole battery of tests to try to find out what the underlying problem(s) might be. Now, I have high cholesterol, and yet, I still have to insist on an annual cholesterol check, so….to have a doctor order all of these tests really blew me away! Considering what I’ve been through over the last year and a half, you’d think that a metabolic panel, a lipid panel, and a host of other tests would be a good idea but every time that I’ve mentioned them I get no response from my doctors. So…next week I’ll go in and have a bunch of tests done. I’ll also be meeting with a nutritionist at my neurologist’s office and I’ll have a TTE – (hang on, it’s a big word, let me look it up) – Trans Thoracic Echocardiogram. I haven’t done that one before so that oughta be fun.

Several of the tests that I’ll have done next week are for autoimmune diseases like Sjogren’s Syndrome, Lupus and Rheumatoid Arthritis. I have family history of autoimmune disease and I’ve been experiencing symptoms that suggest that these would be worth testing for. It was interesting, when I was reading about Sjogren’s Syndrome, that those with Sjogren’s are 44 times more likely to develop lymphoma! Perhaps it’s something that I’ve had for years without even knowing it! In reading about Lupus, I learned that seizures and anemia are common symptoms in those with lupus, as is Raynaud’s Phenomenon. I don’t have Raynaud’s myself but both of my daughters do, as well as several other relatives.

So that’s what I learned today….and I’m feeling a whole lot better about my neurologist. πŸ˜€

7 thoughts on “Santorini…Again

  1. Carrie ~ My mom has Sjogrens and Rheumatoid Arthritis, if you would like someone to talk to if your tests are positive, she is a good resource. Or, if you need a good doctor recommendation, she has plenty! πŸ˜‰ I am glad you felt better about your visit regarding getting some answers during your next step. Hang in there.

  2. Santorini is a good mental place to visit, I was just there in my mind this week too (Well that an Athens and I LOVE the Plaka area of Athens) — I really should dig out my pictures to show you from there.

    Good news about the doctor. It’s always nice to be able to find one that is willing to work with you and you don’t have to fight with to get things accomplished.

    Shannon has RA and might be a good person to talk to about her issues and meds.

  3. Hi Carrie,
    You seem very accepting of your situation so if what I am about to say is disturbing excuse me. Autoimmune diseases are very interesting, there are approx 80 to 100 at this time with another 40 waiting for a name. Medical science cannot explain why and has not found a cure for even one. You can trigger one of them just by having an auto accident, taking aspirin or medicine, by starting a new exercise routine, or even stressing out says latest research. Naturopathic medicine says, “Look for the root cause. The cause is in the basics; beginning with what is on your fork, what toxins are in your body, what exercise do you do, what stress is in your life, what is your spiritual base”. Science has led us down the wrong path, we better stop and take a close look at what is happening. Autoimmune disease is the worst kind of contradiction; for RA disease your immune system is attacking you at your own joints, a world upside down. God bless you in your search.

    Sincerely
    Paul

  4. So pleased to hear that your Drs are coming round to your way of thiking! πŸ™‚ You’ve taught them well! Good luck with all the tests. P.xxx

  5. Hi Carrie,
    Funny what you’re saying about having to press to get tests run. I have the same issues; it’s really funny (no so much ha ha, more hmmm) as if my gp just thinks ah well chemo is over & your tumor is gone, guess nothing else matters. Anyway good luck, good to see you still hanging in there πŸ™‚ I’ve been too fatigued to even blog for awhile, but I’m back into it now πŸ™‚
    Take care,

    Jackie

  6. Hi….read your comment about Santorini being your fave “mental travel” destination. A couple of years ago I moved here from Australia with my family….bought a house on the cliff in Oia. The view of the volcano greets us every morning…and the famous sunset is our evening chill-out scenery.

    I say this not to make you envious….simply to say that Santorini, and many other places around the world, remain “mental destinations” for millions of people. Yet they can be great motivators and goals in life. Living on an island such as Santorini will remain a dream for so many people…yet it doesnt have to be. Make your dream a reality. Health permitting…

    Wave & best wishes from the cliffs of Oia !

Leave a Reply

