Health Update

Last week at Nationals I had many people stop to say hello and ask how I was doing. I’ve lost 12 pounds since last year’s Nationals and my size 0 jeans are by no means snug. I love the way I look and in the words of one very kind man in the Detroit airport last week, I’m “Smokin’ Hot”! 🙂 I was the only person in the area so he must have been talking about me as I walked past. I just hope he wasn’t talking about his sandwich…..I didn’t look back to see. LOL! It made my day! 😀

While I might look pretty good and I’m able to function much of the time, this year has perhaps been even more difficult than last year. Eating is still difficult and what I can eat and how much I can eat can vary from one day to the next. As I write this, I’m trying to eat a small hamburger and its difficult to swallow, my heart is beginning to race and I’m feeling a bit “woozy”. I’d like to go lie down but I want to finish this blog post first. I burp almost constantly, if there’s anything in my stomach. This is most annoying when I’m trying to have a conversation with someone or when I’m trying to work out. It’s hard to breathe and burp at the same time! I can’t just eat whatever I want, as much as I want, whenever I want. I have to carefully manage everything that I eat or I’ll make myself sick….or irregular.

I have an appointment to have my esophagus stretched again on the 26th of this month. The place where they reattached my esophagus to my stomach gets swollen and makes it difficult to swallow…..and this has been getting progressively worse over the last few weeks.

I think that’s enough information for today…..it’s time to go lie down….

2 thoughts on “Health Update

  1. Dear Carrie,

    I just found your website because of my passion for beagles and first of all I have to say that I’m really overwhelmed by your breed. When I started to read your NHL blog I was very impressed by the way you are able to talk about your life with this disease, so began to follow.
    I have Morbus Chron, which I know has nothing to do with NHL, but the fact is that I guess I had nearly the same nutrition problems as you. Half a year ago a friend of mine, she is a doctor for alternative medicine, recommended Reishi to me. It’s a mushroom, well I know what you might think now 😉 but it has nothing to do with drugs. Anyway it helps your immune system, above all your gastro-intestinal system, to get in balance again. Additionally it has some other positives effects, it works anti depressive and antiphlogistic. (well I’m not sure if that’s the right English word for it) I was very skeptically first, so I didn’t expected any effect especially because the mainstream medicine couldn’t do anything for me at this time. As taking Reishi can’t have any negative effects I just tried out and now I’m feeling very comfortable with it. After three years of having problems with nutrition I’m able to eat nearly everything, and I love food, so I’ve got my life quality back 😉 Even my Doc was impressed because you can see constant improvement in my blood levels.
    In the meantime I found out that many doctors also use it for their patients while chemotherapy as well – I guess that’s the proof that it works.
    I do not know how it is in the US but here in Europe they sell it in the form of pills in normal drugstores and special drugstores for Chinese medicine.

    I just thought you might be interested in it – with my best wishes from Vienna,

    Andrea

Leave a Reply

