Livestrong Challenge Seattle

Survivor2

On Sunday, June 21st, I participated in the Livestrong Challengen Seattle 5K walk.  I had originally signed up to participate in the 10 mile bike ride but, having been recently diagnosed with epilepsy, that didn’t seem like a good idea.  If I can’t drive a car, I probably shouldn’t be on a bike.  This was the first time that I’ve participated in an event like this and I had a great time.  Congratulations to Livestrong, the event organizers and the volunteers for putting on a great event to raise money to fight cancer and raise awareness of cancer survivorship.

My dad, a prostate cancer survivor, my mom and my daughter, Amanda, joined me on the walk.  Throughout the walk, I thought of those whose lives have been touched by cancer and I gave thanks for each of you who have been such a great support to me over the last 20 months.

I continue to struggle with my health and actually had a simple partial seizure while on the walk.  Since my seizure in February, I’ve had several episodes during which I experience flashing thoughts/visions (or hallucinations) that have nothing to do with what’s going on around me or what I’m thinking about.  I don’t lose consciousness during these episodes but they are a bit disconcerting.  The episode during the walk was the first that I’ve experienced since going on medication so it’ll be something that I need to discuss with my neurologist tomorrow.

I’ve had a difficult time with nausea and dumping syndrome over the last 10 days or so.  When I’m  not lying down or in the bathroom, I’m trying to catch up on chores and bills.  Thank you to everyone who has written to me over the last couple of weeks.  I’m sorry that I haven’t been able to reply but I’ve been so grateful for all of your cards and messages!  Thank You!

One thought on “Livestrong Challenge Seattle

  1. Well done to you and your family – you look so good! Hope the neurologist meeting goes well. Counting the days to 8th chemo next Tuesday – then the redoing of scans. Like a kid waiting for Christmas 🙂

    x

Leave a Reply

