Health Care Around the World: Cost vs Results

This morning I went to the WHO web site to compare health care statistics around the world. I chose to look at health care stats in countries where I have “beagle friends” (and I want to say thank you to my friends in Canada and Czech who have commented on my previous post). Conservatives in the US argue that we have the best health care in the US….but the statistics suggest otherwise….

If this little girl was born in the US today, her life expectancy would be 80 years. In the US, we spend $6714 per capita on health care, 15.3% of our GDP. Of the countries that I looked at, her life expectancy was lowest in the US and in most cases the cost of health care was at least twice as much in the US.

In the Czech Republic, as in the US, this little girl would live 80 years but health care expenditure is far less than that of the US: $1490 and 6.8% of GDP.

In Canada, she would live to be 83. Annual expenditure per capita: $3672 (10% of GDP).

In Australia, this little girl would live to be 84, at an annual cost of $3122 (8.7% of GDP).

Denmark: 81 years, $3349/person, 9.5% of GDP

Sweden: 83 years, $3119/person, 8.9% of GDP

Finland: 83 years, $2472/person, 7.6% of GDP

United Kingdom: 81 years, $2784/person, 8.4% of GDP

I’d love to hear from more of my friends around the world. Are you happy with health care in your country? Responses from friends in Canada and Czech can be found on yesterday’s post on my blog. Thank you for your input!

Leave a Reply

