Thyme To Move On

Multiple BIS/BISS CH. Talbot Hill’s Thyme After Time, “Herbie”

I laid in bed last night, wide awake, as I so often do, this time with the Prayer of St. Francis and a rough draft for my final blog post playing over and over again in my head. I’ll write my final blog post on Friday, October 23rd, my second “Cancerversary”. It’s time to move on and I’ll write more about this on Friday. Today, though, I want to talk about my dogs…..

In the two years since I learned that I had cancer, I have cried just once: on the way home from the airport as the first of my dogs, “Prada” (now CH. Talbot Hill Beowulf Ciao Bella), left home, destined for co-breeder/co-owner, Terri Giannetti, in New York. Earlier that week, I had loaded 12 dogs in my Honda Element and headed to the vet for vaccinations, health certificates and microchips. Over the course of the next four days, I watched my breeding program leave, grateful to the breeders who took my dogs into their homes but so sad to see them all go.  I had been told that I had cancer and that chemo and surgery were in my future.  The best thing for me, and for my dogs, was to find them new homes.  I called Alyce on the way home from the airport. We can make each other laugh, or cry, without saying a word and I needed to let the emotion out. I LOVE what I do and saying good-bye to my dogs was harder than facing chemo….or surgery…..or an uncertain future. Thank you, Alyce, for being there for that phone call…..and for all of the phone calls since. I love you! 🙂

I don’t know how to express my gratitude to David and Lesley. They have been there for me in so many ways and I think of them as family, not just friends. They gave Herbie a show career that helped distract me from my battle with cancer and It’s been wonderful sharing Herbie with them. The photo above is my favorite photo…..Herbie’s first group win at just over one year of age, two months before my diagnosis. As his show career comes to a close and Herbie becomes my full-time lap dog/nap dog, I want to publicly thank David and Lesley for all that they’ve done for me. They have been generous mentors and the very best of friends….I love you both!

2 thoughts on “Thyme To Move On

  1. Ah, Carrie, I don’t want to see your blog leaving. I will wait for your post on the 23rd, maybe you have something different (but similar) in mind. You are such a talented writer and have so much good to say.

    Reading about you saying goodbye to Prada (and your other dogs) was sad for your friends too because we know how much you love and care for every.single.one. of your dogs. We wish we could have seen Prada grow too. 🙂 Nice that Herbie will be your lap/nap/daily beagle friend. That brings a smile to me.

    Cheers to you from me, and a huge tail wag from Cora.

  2. what a great picture of Herbie, You really find out how many super friends you have that stick with you thru good and bad it is nice to know that you had such wonderlful friends to help through the tough times.

Leave a Reply

