Too Much to Bear

I’ve been through a lot in the last two years….I’ve lost a lot, I’ve given up a lot. I’ve been diagnosed with cancer, epilepsy, an aneurysm and an ulcer. I’ve had to adapt my life to the changes brought on by my illness, giving up the freedom to drive, giving up wine and coffee which were previously great passions in my life (ok…well…I do occasionally have a glass of wine but I have to be very sensible about it) and giving up food and cooking as a result of my altered digestive system, reduced to small amounts of rabbit food (and occasional mussels!). The one thing that I can still enjoy (but don’t tell my neurologist) is Teavana’s Lemon Green Tea. I can’t handle heavy foods, heavy flavors…and the light, subtle flavor of Teavana’s Lemon Green Tea is settling to my stomach and I drink it all day, every day.

I was running low on my tea today so I asked Larry to haul me down to the mall so that I could purchase this month’s supply. I walked into Teavana, past the sales associates and their free samples…”No, no…I know just what I want. Please refill my tin with Lemon Green Tea.”

“Oh! I’m sorry! They’ve discontinued the Lemon Green Tea.”

…………………………………………….”What?”

“I’m sorry. We won’t be carrying it anymore.”

…………………………………………….”That can’t be!”

After creating a delightful and memorable scene (which I hope that the sales associates will reenact for their manager….and their district manager…and so on…and so on)….I left the store deeply dejected, bearing a tin of Sencha….a nice green tea….but just not the same.

I did go online when I got home and I was able to get some Lemon Green Tea from their web site but I fear that this may not be an option in the future. Whatever will I do???? It really is too much to bear….

5 thoughts on “Too Much to Bear

  1. Carrie –

    Have you tried Jasmine green tea? There are 2 brands that are very good and carried both by Uwajimaya in Renton and at the Great Wall Mall on East Valley (not always there).

  2. It is funny what sets us off but it was the last straw for you!

    Anyway, I chew on crystalized ginger because of chronic nausea which you probably already heard about.

Leave a Reply

