I Thought You Were Leaving

A few weeks ago, I wrote a post to close this blog. It had begun two years ago, entitled “Carrie’s NHL Blog”, with the intent to keep family and friends up-to-date as I battled non-Hodgkins lymphoma. It grew to be source of healing for me and way to reach out to other cancer survivors and their families but on my second Cancerversary, when I’d put NHL behind me, it felt like it was time to move in another direction. There were still challenges to face. I had battled cancer in 2008 but 2009 had brought a new challenge: epilepsy. As 2009 draws to a close, the struggling housing market of the last three years, the weak economy, two years of medical bills and two daughters in college mean that 2010 will bring yet another challenge: bankruptcy. This is no longer Carrie’s NHL Blog….this is Carrie’s blog about Carrie knocked to her knees, nothing left, starting over from scratch…..

So…I had wanted to start over with a new blog, a new look, a new perspective, a new title. A fresh start. But perhaps that wouldn’t be authentic. To know who I am today, you need to know where I’ve been. To understand who I am, you need to understand the events and people that have molded me. To help others, I need to start at the beginning (a very good place to start, when you sing you begin with do-re-mi….oops! sorry!) Where was I?

I still hear from cancer survivors, I hear from epilepsy survivors and I know that I’m helping those going through difficult times in their lives. I need this outlet and I feel like I am helping others…..so I continue to blog…..and I’m going to stay right here.

2 thoughts on “I Thought You Were Leaving

  1. so good to hear that you are staying, you have been an inspiration to me and you always have a postitive outlook no matter what cards you have been given. I sincerely hope the housing market picks up , your epilepsy is controlled and 2010 is all that you hope for

  2. Yep…that’s the way it should be Carrie…keep up the therapy sessions and public service all wrapped up in this blog!

    God allows things to happen for reasons we cannot fathom here…I think this blog is a by product of the journey He has brought you through…meant to bless you and your readers…

    He will keep you and your family in His care in 2010 and forever!

Leave a Reply

