Back To School

I’ve spent the last week in the Vancouver, Washington area, just north of Portland, Oregon, house-sitting for friends who are traveling in Europe. While here, I’ve visited the campus of Washington State University Vancouver, just fifteen minutes from where I’m staying. The 350 acre campus is twenty years old and serves nearly 3000 students….and this summer, I hope to become one of them!

I took a tour of the campus yesterday and I’ve applied for admission with the goal to pursue a Professional Writing Certificate and then a degree in either English or Humanities. Since I received my first undergraduate degree from WSU (B.S. in Agriculture) all of the general requirements for a degree are waived and I only need to meet the specific requirements for a major….which I should be able to do in just one year! Most, if not all, of the courses are available online but I hope to take at least a few courses on campus and get some valuable one-on-one contact with professors.

I haven’t worked outside of the home for 10 years so this degree will give me a fresh set of skills and something current to put on my resume. In the future, I hope to write for businesses, organizations and causes that I’m passionate about, perhaps on web sites or in blog format. I’ve been encouraged by the overwhelmingly positive feedback regarding my own blog over the past two years and I’m so excited about this new course for my future! ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Back To School

  1. Hi Carrie,

    I’ve been following your blog since Larry sent me your link. You have a way of adding humor to your tribulations. I think you’ll be a great author.

    I am very glad you are doin ok.

    Rosemarie

Leave a Reply

