Talbot Hill Beagles: Web Site & Blog

Over the last couple of days I’ve enjoyed talking with friends in Sweden, Denmark, England, Canada and around the U.S……I love Facebook!  But you already knew that!   😉   Several have asked why I haven’t updated my web site which I had always been so good at updating on a daily basis.  After all, I have two new puppies, “Tove” and “Bayeux”…”where are their web pages?” I was asked.

It was a little over a year ago when I had the first of three grand mal seizures that I would experience in 2009; seizures that kept me medicated and trapped at home for the remainder of the year.  I spent much of the past year dealing with post-seizure amnesia and an inability to concentrate, dealing with memory loss and dizziness and a whole host of side effects that were difficult to come to grips with.  My neurologist had done a series of tests but there was no physical explanation for the seizures, as is often the case, so we tried one medication after another and with each change of medication I would spend four to six weeks sitting like a zombie as my body adjusted to the new drug.  I had allergic reactions to some of the medications and some of the medications had additional side effects that I wasn’t willing to live with but the toughest thing to deal with was the lack of mental clarity.  My head would grow foggy and my seizure threshold would rise with the slightest stimulation:  too much caffeine, too much sugar, too much alcohol….noise, fluorescent light, halogen light, gluten, talking….just “too much” was enough to trigger another seizure.   And “too much” for me was not “normal human” too much….”too much” got to the point where a cup of green tea was “too much”caffeine.  A piece of toast was “too much” gluten.  I might have to excuse myself from a conversation with a friend because my head was starting to spin from “too much” stimulation.

My husband, Larry, is a realtor and he works from home in a home office that we have shared since we moved here in 2002.  As a realtor, of course, the phone and fax machine, even in this depressed housing market, ring at all hours of the day, seven days a week and he spends long hours talking on the phone throughout the day.  This was clearly going to be “too much” stimulation for my poor brain to deal with and using my computer in the office wasn’t going to be possible.  I got a small netbook so that I could sit quietly in the living room, or out in the courtyard on a warm summer day, and stay in touch with the world via my blog and Facebook.

Unfortunately, I don’t have the software on my netbook that I need to update my web site so I’ve created a Talbot Hill Beagles blog instead.  The blog exists online so I don’t need to take up space on my netbook and I can update it from anywhere.  And, since I don’t have any litters planned this year and my showing will be very limited, there won’t be a lot of updates to post anyway.  I will create a web page for Tove and for Bayeux this weekend at Talbot Hill Beagles.com but, for now, you can find Tove and Bayeux on my blog.

I’m doing better and better each day.  It’s now been more than six months since my last seizure and I’ve slowly been working on regaining my stamina so that I can get back to work.  After losing half of my stomach to cancer and spending the last year in a very sedentary state, I’ve had a long, slow road to physical and mental recovery from my illnesses.  I am still “in dogs” but on a very limited basis for now as I focus on getting my life back on track.  I have two puppy bitches who keep me constantly entertained and a very special boy who is constantly by my side…

6 thoughts on “Talbot Hill Beagles: Web Site & Blog

  1. I saw your new blog when you mentioned Sophie on FB. NICE work on that, it looks great! I hope you are able to stay with “dogs” and keep breeding and showing, we love learning and seeing through you. Glad you are on “this side” of the struggles as you seem to be managing very well with your new exciting adventures with writing, etc. Good job!

  2. Is Elle J. interested in Sophie? I know she wants another beagle. I am tempted, but can’t even think about it.
    Take your time,don’t rush. Even though I enjoy looking at your web site and reading your blog, I realize you need healing time. I hope you are feeling better and are able to enjoy the beautiful spring weather. Looking foward to your postings.
    Maureen

    • Hi Maureen!

      No….”Elle J” lives nearby and has already given a wonderful home to one of my beagles. The perfect home will come along for Sophie when it’s supposed to. 🙂

      I’m doing well. I still have “a lot on my plate” but I’m taking each day as it comes and I’m happy, positive and at peace with my life. Thank you for staying in touch with me throughout all of this….you’ve been such a great source of support to me!

  3. Hi Carrie, this morning Christina and I enjoyed reading about your life and love of the Beagle Breed. You have a beautiful home and surrounding grounds/gardens. We still miss our Abby and may consider a travel to your area after we settle in for the winter here in Venice, Florida to possibly discuss another addition of a friend in our family. Until then we shall follow your blog. Gordie

  4. I just wanted to write a word to say thanks to you for all the unique hints you are posting on this website. My incredibly long internet investigation has at the end been paid with excellent suggestions to talk about with my friends and classmates. I would believe that most of us visitors are undeniably fortunate to exist in a perfect community with many special people with useful basics. I feel rather lucky to have encountered your weblog and look forward to really more fun times reading here. Thanks once more for a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

