An Attempt at Gluten Free Banana Crumpets

Dirty Window Banana Bokeh, originally uploaded by stephcarter.

If I were to post a Facebook status today, my status would be:

“Carrie needs a nap….and she needs for Les Schwab to be open on Sundays….’cuz she’s “such a girl”!!!”.

I got up early this morning, took care of the dogs, had my tea and sausage and went to the early Palm Sunday service at church. On the way home, Amanda and I stopped at the store to pick up a couple of things and on the way out, discovered that my front tire is a bit flat. Now….I did, at one time in my life, teach high school boys how to arc weld, use an oxyacetylene torch, and run a metal lathe……honestly!!! I know this is hard to believe!!! even for me!!!….so, in theory, I ought to be able to change or repair a flat tire, right? Ha Ha!!! Well, if push came to shove and my dog’s life depended on it…..then, yes, I could probably do it but…..

…..when I got home and looked at the pitiful, overripe bananas sitting on my kitchen counter and decided that I’d try to make gluten free banana muffins this afternoon I was not desperate enough to repair the tire myself so that I could go to the store and get a couple of ingredients that I was missing. Instead, being my father’s child (translation: resourceful, improvisational, “ask questions before you eat what he’s concocted” chef), I will make do with the resources available to me and attempt this Gluten Free Banana Crumpet recipe.   So far, I haven’t been too inspired by the gluten free baking recipes that I’ve attempted but this seems like the perfect sort of activity for a grey, rainy Sunday afternoon. When I’m done, I’ll curl up with a cup of green tea and a stack of books…..and report back to you later…. 🙂

Later…..

Well, I think this has potential….minus the bananas.  Amanda and I agreed that the weirdest thing about what I’d prepared was the banana flavor.  My recipe:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

15 oz  Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Biscuit and Baking Mix

1/2 cup Greek yogurt

Use the whisk attachment on your Kitchenaid mixer until these are mixed to resemble coarse sand.  Then add…

3/4 cup mashed bananas

1 beaten egg

Mix together in Kitchenaid mixer then turn out on “floured” surface and kneed eight times, halve dough, pat into two circles 1/2″ – 3/4″ high, cut each circle into quarters and bake at 350 degrees for 18 minutes.

The results are really more scone-like than crumpet-like and the texture was ok but we just didn’t care for the banana flavor.  I would try this again with vanilla, cardamom…..LOL!!!…caraway (because I LOVE CARAWAY!) and the mix is not sweet so a small amount of sugar might be added, too.  Since I’m sensitive to sugar, this was perfect for me and this is a basic recipe that I can play with in the future.

3 thoughts on “An Attempt at Gluten Free Banana Crumpets

  1. Like you told mom, the acorn doesn’t fall far from the tree, Ha! I’ve got coffee hour next Sunday, as usual. I think I’ll play with your recipe for the gluten free people at church. I have to have about 10 doz. of something. Hotcross buns, Cinnamon pull apart, lemon bars, brownies(with cream cheese), snikerdoodles, banana bread, and waffle muffins. Should do it. Pete and Tim are in Las Vegas next week end, we will probably do something at the lake, but have not decided yet. Are you and yours interested in coming up.
    Eric is back in the country from his Carribean cruise, mom picks him up tomorrow about noon.
    Caleb is with his dad all week, but will be with Brooke for Easter…we’ll be celebrating his birthday then.

    It is a very miserable day here too. Mom and I were at a memorial service at church yesterday. Phylis Newton, you may not remember her, but Ardel Beauchamp is her sister and you may remember her. Went today for Palm Sunday, and a congregational meeting to change the name to Everett UCC, dropping The First Congregational.

    Liked your last few postings
    dad

  2. I have Galahad on a grain free diet. It is hard in the treat department. I have gotten garbonzo bean flour, but have not made the treats as yet. He has meat, carrots and yams for dinner. He needs to loose weight and get rid of his ear problems.

Leave a Reply

