Stop to Smell the Roses…

Wild Rose Bud, originally uploaded by Roger Lynn.

Sometimes hidden from me
in daily custom and in trust,
so that I live by you unaware
as by the beating of my heart,

Suddenly you flare in my sight,
a wild rose blooming at the edge
of a thicket, grace and light
where yesterday was only shade,

and once again I am blessed, choosing
again what I chose before.

….”The Wild Rose” by Wendell Berry, written for his wife

It’s been a cold, grey, dreary week in the Emerald City but the sun came out again today so I did my favorite thing….I took a book, a beagle, and a cup of gunpowder green tea out to the courtyard and spent some quiet time in the sun.  It was good to hear the birds again and even the buzz of the flies flitting from flower bud to flower bud.  At one point I thought that perhaps I’d even heard the familiar hum of the hummingbird’s wings but, as is often the case, he was in too big of a hurry, searching for nectar, unable to pause long enough for me to enjoy him….

While 2009 was a very frustrating year for me (illness kept me trapped at home, unable to go anywhere or do anything) one of the blessings that I did get from the experience was the chance to just be still….to appreciate silence….to embrace the present.  This theme was explored in my reading today and in a couple of TV documentaries that I’ve recently watched, Digital Nation and The Buddha.  With the launch of yet another tech toy earlier this week, the IPad, we have yet another gadget to engage our multitasking minds and distract us from the world that is right in front of us.  I love my tiny tech toys, don’t get me wrong!  I don’t know how anyone ever got sick before Google came along!  And there’s no better thing to have in crowded waiting room or a week-long stay in a hospital than a Sony eReader full of good books to read!  LOL!!!  And….well, of course, you know that my blog and Facebook have been my link to the outside world for the last 15 months!

For many…and dare I saymost of us, though, these marvelous, tiny, little tools that open up the world to us and connect us to people and places that we would otherwise never see, also draw us away from the beautiful, fascinating things that we have right before us, right there every day in our daily lives.  I know that it sounds a bit cliche, but I hope that you’ll take some time today to turn off the Crackberry, go offline and turn off the TV…

Sit quietly, breathe deeply and stop and smell the roses.   🙂

P.S.  April is National Poetry Month!

3 thoughts on “Stop to Smell the Roses…

  1. We had very warm weather this week. Flowers are out and beautiful. I had my first outside cup of coffee, just sitting and looking at the beauty.

    • I heard about the warm weather on the east coast, Maureen! I’m glad that you were able to get out and enjoy it! It was cold and windy here with highs in the 40’s and lows near freezing. There were even reports of scattered snow showers in the area. I’m watching the sun rise on a beautiful Saturday morning now, the cherry trees in the front yard are in full bloom and I’ll be spending more time outside today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

