Osteopenia

Scotland is ours!, originally uploaded by B℮n.

This Scottish Highland cow has nothing to do with this week’s vocabulary word, of course….just a random photo from Flickr that amused me. 🙂

I recently asked my gynecologist if it would be a good idea to do a bone density test, given my history and current condition. He agreed and I had the exam done last week. Using very low dosage x-ray, the density of the lower spine and one hip is examined…and the result: I have osteopenia. Nothing to worry about at this point but, I am beginning to lose bone density. I was advised to take 2000 IU of vitamin D daily and calcium twice a day (something I already do anyway)….no need for medication at this point.

I have several risk factors that make me prone to osteoporosis. My stomach surgery may have affected my ability to absorb calcium. My cancer treatment and the medication that I take for epilepsy and for my stomach can all contribute to bone loss and decreased ability to absorb calcium. Chemo sent me into an early menopause and my epilepsy seems to be hormone sensitive so I am not on HRT. I’m very thin with low BMI…another risk factor. Visit the Mayo Clinic web site for more information about osteoporosis and osteopenia.

2 thoughts on “Osteopenia

  1. Cancer or Mesothelioma is tragic. That is why I cannot advocate enough for people to recognize the signs and know the Mesothelioma Symptoms. Please educate yourself, and don’t think that just because you weren’t a smoker or haven’t smoked in years that you are immune from Mesothelioma.

    I know this sounds cheesy but optimism sometimes is the best medicine.

Leave a Reply

