Autoimmune Disease

I went to the dentist yesterday for a routine cleaning and while I was there I asked him about something that I’ve been curious about for several months.  I’ve been noticing dryness in the inner portion of my left eye and dry mouth…both classic symptoms of Sjogren’s Syndrome, an autoimmune disease.  While my symptoms haven’t been too troubling, the dry mouth has become an increasing problem at work where I spend eight hours answering phones.  Lack of saliva makes it difficult to talk so I asked my dentist to check my saliva production.  He confirmed that I do have dry mouth and insisted that I make an appointment to see my doctor soon.

Since my doctor’s office is just down the street, I stopped in to make an appointment after my dental appointment.  “We have an opening in 45 minutes,” the receptionist said…so I went next door to Starbucks and got a cup of tea and a piece of banana bread while I waited.  Now, if you’ve read my recent posts, you’ll know that I’ve been gluten-free for a couple months after realizing that my body was having some intense reactions to gluten.  Banana bread is not a part of my diet these days BUT…I wanted to stimulate a reaction prior to doing bloodwork so I ate gluten.  I discussed my symptoms with my doctor, we did the bloodwork and we’re awaiting the results….

That afternoon…I went home and dealt with the effects of eating gluten:  fatigue, nausea, cramping.  I slept off and on for the rest of the day.   😦

4 thoughts on “Autoimmune Disease

  1. I am all too familiar with Sjogren’s ~ my mom has it. Praying it is not the case for you. Depending on your blood work results, if you wanted to chat, she’s open to talking. Big hugs during the wait … and a side note …if you get down to Lk Oswego check out Crave Bake Shop – owned/operated by my cousin and it is 100% Gluten Free bakery and her items are Amazing!!! She suffers from Celiac Disease so she truly knows her stuff. =)

    • That’s good to know! Thanks! There are several cases of autoimmune disease in our family and the bloodwork doesn’t always come back positive at first so…we’ll see what happens. My cousin has M.S. and it took years before the test results actually came back positive…even though she was clearly feeling the physical effects of the disease. I ate the gluten the other day to try to ensure a response in the bloodwork…if, in fact, I do have Sjogren’s and/or gluten intolerance. LOL! Frankly, I don’t care what the bloodwork says…at this point, my body has some pretty definite opinions about gluten and I’m going to act accordingly. 🙂

      Thank you for the message!!!! 🙂

    • Thank you for your comments, Julia! I got my results back just yesterday and all of the results came back normal with exception of Rheumatoid Factor which was slightly high at 34. I’ll be retesting again in November. I’m still experiencing dry mouth and dry eye….

Leave a Reply

