Post-Gastrectomy Syndrome and Iron Deficiency Anemia

For several months, I’ve been particularly fatigued, needing at least one nap before leaving for work in the afternoon.  I sleep well at night and should feel well-rested and yet I’m fatigued and recognize the familiar symptoms of iron deficiency anemia.  The results of my blood work from my recent annual visit with my oncologist were good…with the exception of my iron levels which remain at the low end of the normal range.  I supplement with 27 mg ferrous gluconate, taken with vitamin C on an empty stomach but, as described in this article on Post-Gastrectomy Syndrome, my ability to absorb iron has been compromised by my surgery.

Wanting to have more energy, less fatigue, and prevent complications due to low iron levels, I’ve contacted my doctor about having a blood transfusion.  We’ve discussed this course of action in the past but this will be my first transfusion…if my insurance company approves.  I’ll keep you posted….  🙂

Note:  It has now been 4 1/2 years since my surgery.

2 thoughts on “Post-Gastrectomy Syndrome and Iron Deficiency Anemia

  1. Hi there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re utilizing?

    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must
    say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can
    you rexommend a good internet hosting provider att a reasonable price?
    Many thanks, I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

